Thursday, 19 January 2012

Tired

When I raised my daughters when Murray wasn't in the picture, we had rules. One of the rules were no eating or drinking in your bedroom. The food stayed in the kitchen or dining room. We had snacks such as popcorn or chips in the tv room while watching movies but other than that the food stayed in the kitchen area.
  This brings me to Ethan and Murray. Ethan is 19 years old and has a job. He doesn't go to school or any kind of post secondary schooling. He still lives here at home. He does not pay room and board or rent. He freeloads off us. He eats our food, uses our water and electricity. He eats breakfast and supper in his bedroom and Murray allows it. I am so dead set against it. I told Murray and he got mad at me for bringing it up. We just went grocery shopping on Saturday and one day I wanted a tuna sandwich. Guess what? All six cans of tuna gone. I wanted a banana, and they were all gone. I wanted a sandwich of some kind and all four loaves of bread gone.  I remembered that we had some popcorn chicken and I went to bake some and they were all gone. Murray got mad at me for mentioning the food thing. I am tired of going to make something for me to eat and its gone. I have this mentality of food in this house and its this "I need to eat my share of this food before Ethan gets to it or there will be nothing left for me to enjoy" so I engorged on the food. You would think that one pound of hamburger to make chilli would be enough for me and Murray. No, I made one kilogram of hamburger and made just as much as I used to when I fed four to six children and us two adults. It was gone the very next day. I am tired of Ethan freeloading off us and I am tired of Murray justifying it. I am tired of me being made the bad person when I mention charging Ethan room and board so we can keep up on the food bill. If he paid room and board then I probably would not have a problem with him eating every meal in his bedroom or eating the food we buy with the money he gives us. But he isn't and I have a huge problem with it.

1 comment:

  1. i agree. and its very irritating for me to see that happen too. and its funny cuz it doesnt even affect just you dont worry mom. especially when i also come home and am hungry, but cant ever eat anything cuz there isnt anything to eat since someone else already cleaned out the fridge..always..and not like i eat much! i know how you feel..

    ReplyDelete